Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories
    Filters
    Preferences
    Search

    Middler The

    €10.00
    The Middler is a gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal set in a near-future world.
    ISBN: 9781788003452
    AuthorApplebaum Kirs
    Pub Date28/03/2019
    BindingPaperback
    Pages256
    Accelerated ReaderMiddle Years, Book Level: 3.3
    AvailabilityIn Stock
    Availability: In Stock

    "I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had."

    Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam.

    Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig - everyone loves Trig. But Maggie's just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head.

    Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family.

    This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, Frances Hardinge and Margaret Atwood.

    "I thought I'd almost reached my fill of dystopian novels, but Kirsty Applebaum has rebooted the genre. The plot pulls you along and I liked Maggie more and more as she grew in courage. There is a touch of Harper Lee's Scout about her." - Alex O'Connell, The Times

    Also by Kirsty Applebaum:

    TrooFriend

    Write your own review
    *
    *
    • Bad
    • Excellent
    *
    *
    *

    "I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had."

    Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam.

    Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her younger brother is Trig - everyone loves Trig. But Maggie's just a middler; invisible and left behind. Then, one hot September day, she meets Una, a hungry wanderer girl in need of help, and everything Maggie has ever known gets turned on its head.

    Narrated expertly and often hilariously by Maggie, we experience the trials and frustrations of being the forgotten middle child, the child with no voice, even in her own family.

    This gripping story of forbidden friendship, loyalty and betrayal is perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Meg Rosoff, Frances Hardinge and Margaret Atwood.

    "I thought I'd almost reached my fill of dystopian novels, but Kirsty Applebaum has rebooted the genre. The plot pulls you along and I liked Maggie more and more as she grew in courage. There is a touch of Harper Lee's Scout about her." - Alex O'Connell, The Times

    Also by Kirsty Applebaum:

    TrooFriend

    Customers who bought this item also bought

    Moomin: The Birthday Button - Ladybird Readers Level 1

    €6.25
    Accelerated Reader
    Lower Years, Book Level: 1.1

    Blue Whales

    €11.25
    Accelerated Reader
    Lower Years, Book Level: 2.6

    Chimp with a Limp

    €7.50
    Cheeky Chimp has a limp...or does he? Follow his extremely tall tale as he explains why he cannot possibly help Cheetah. This fun story, specially written to develop phonemic awareness, features simple text and wonderful illustrations by David Semple. It's ideal for reading aloud and for children who are beginning to read for themselves.
    Accelerated Reader
    Lower Years, Book Level: 1.4

    Armadillo on a pillow

    €7.50
    Armadillo receives a late night visit from a fairy. But he soon gets carried away with the wishes she grants... This entertaining story for beginner readers has simple rhyming text and stylish illustrations throughout. A delight to share with young children, or for beginner readers to read themselves, with parent's notes on phonics at the back.
    Accelerated Reader
    Lower Years, Book Level: 1.4

    The Land in the Jar

    €6.25
    Accelerated Reader
    Lower Years, Book Level: 1.5