(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories

    Bloodaxe Books Ltd

    View as Grid List
    Sort by
    Display per page


    Eleventh collection by one of the best-known poets of Britain and Ireland: poems haunted by mortality, by other worlds and far-flung places, by visitations and violent events like the Spanish Inquisition.

    Leabhar na hAthghabh?la

    This first comprehensive critical anthology of modern poetry in Irish with English translations forms a sequel to Sean O Tuama and Thomas Kinsella's pioneering anthology, An Duanaire 1600-1900 / Poems of the Dispossessed (1981), but features many more poems in covering the work of 26 poets from the 20th century. Irish-English dual language text.


    Work by Belfast poet written since his retrospective Goat's Milk (2015), including poems - sombre and flippant - about having Parkinson's Disease. Poetry Book Society Recommendation. Shortlisted for a National Book Circle Critics Award.

    Staying Human: new poems for Stayin

    Staying Human is the latest addition to Bloodaxe's Staying Alive series of world poetry anthologies which have introduced many thousands of new readers to contemporary poetry. This fourth volume in the series offers poetry lovers an even broader, international selection, with a strong focus on 21st-century poems addressing current issues.

    Negative Space

    New collection by leading Albanian poet of work written since her first UK edition, Haywire: New & Selected Poems, was published by Bloodaxe in 2011. Ani Gjika's translation from the Albanian of Luljeta Lleshanaku's Negative Space was shortlisted for the International Griffin Poetry Prize 2019.

    Herod's Dispensations

    Spiritual orphanhood and the loss and protection of innocence lie at the heart of this new collection by the eminent Irish poet Harry Clifton, in poems which revisit - in meditations on death and migration - the territories of the Far East from his early years, in the light of a new nomadic age.

    Is Is Not

    New collection of poems about beauty, death, time and contradiction by the esteemed American poet and prose writer Tess Gallagher, celebrating the two places where she has lived for the past four decades: the Northwest of America and the north-west of Ireland.

    When the Tree Falls

    When the Tree Falls is Jane Clarke's second collection. These lyrically eloquent poems bear witness to the rhythms of birth and death, celebration and mourning, endurance and regrowth. An elegiac sequence, inspired by the loss of her father, moves gracefully through this second collection.

    Bloodaxe Books Ltd