This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Carrie's War

Carrie's War

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own.
Our Price: €7.22
ISBN/EAN9780140306897
AvailabilityDelivery usually within 5-10 working days
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Pub. Date: January 31 1974
Author: Bawden, Nina
Format: Paperback
Pages:208
Middle Years,
Book Level: 5.2
Star Rating


Prices may change to those quoted on above, our prices are not guaranteed but are the latest available, prior to shipping prices will be confirmed.
Save to Wishlist

"Carrie's War" by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story "Carrie's War" has delighted readers for almost 40 years. "Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children". ("Daily Telegraph"). Perfect for fans of "Goodnight Mister Tom" by Michelle Magorian. Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - "Carrie's War" is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime.
She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for "The Peppermint Pig".
No recommended products at the moment.
No recommended products at the moment.