This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. You can review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy, or Accept and Close this bar now.

Search

Search Terms

You can search our site by adding one or more words to one or more of the search boxes below.

Each box searches a different field and the 'Search All' box searches them all.

If you enter multiple words in in any search box then one of those words MUST be in that field for the product to be returned but all of them don’t have to be present.

The results will be ordered by products with more of the specified words first (if in “Relevance” order) then any products that have less of your specified words.

For example if you search for “Red Dog” in the title field and “James Ben” in the Author field then ether “Red” or “Dog” must be present in the title AND ether “James” or “Ben” must be present in the Author field for a product to be shown in the results. If both “Red” and “Dog” is present in the Title as well as “James” and “Ben” in the Author then that product will appear first in the results followed by any products with fewer of the optional words.

Wildcard Searches

We support single and multiple character wildcard searches within single words.

To perform a single character wildcard search use the ""?"" symbol.

To perform a multiple character wildcard search use the ""*"" symbol.

The single character wildcard search looks for terms that match that with the single character replaced. For example, to search for ""text"" or ""test"" you can use the search:

te?t

Multiple character wildcard searches looks for 0 or more characters. For example, to search for test, tests or tester, you can use the search:

test*

You can also use the wildcard searches in the middle of a term:

te*t

Warning: You should avoid using wildcard searches as the first character of a word as it will dramatically slow down searches:

?est

*st

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators allow terms to be combined through logic operators. We support AND, ""+"", OR, NOT and ""-"" as Boolean operators(Note: Boolean operators must be ALL CAPS).

The OR operator is the default conjunction operator. This means that if there is no Boolean operator between two terms, the OR operator is used. The OR operator links two terms and finds a matching document if either of the terms exist in a document. This is equivalent to a union using sets. The symbol || can be used in place of the word OR.

To search for documents that contain either ""another book"" or just ""another"" use the query:

""another book"" another

or

""another book"" OR another

AND

The AND operator matches documents where both terms exist anywhere in the text of a single document. This is equivalent to an intersection using sets. The symbol && can be used in place of the word AND.

To search for documents that contain ""another book"" and ""Some Book"" use the query:

""another book"" AND ""Some Book""

+

The ""+"" or required operator requires that the term after the ""+"" symbol exist somewhere in a the field of a single document.

To search for documents that must contain ""another"" and may contain ""search"" use the query:

+another search

NOT

The NOT operator excludes documents that contain the term after NOT. This is equivalent to a difference using sets. The symbol ! can be used in place of the word NOT.

To search for documents that contain ""another book"" but not ""Some Book"" use the query:

""another book"" NOT ""Some Book""

-

The ""-"" or prohibit operator excludes documents that contain the term after the ""-"" symbol.

To search for documents that contain ""another book"" but not ""Some Book"" use the query:

""another book"" -""Some Book""

Fuzzy Searches

We support fuzzy searches based on the Levenshtein Distance, or Edit Distance algorithm. To do a fuzzy search use the tilde, ""~"", symbol at the end of a Single word Term. For example to search for a term similar in spelling to ""roam"" use the fuzzy search:

roam~

This search will find terms like foam and roams.

An additional (optional) parameter can specify the required similarity. The value is between 0 and 1, with a value closer to 1 only terms with a higher similarity will be matched. For example:

roam~0.8

The default that is used if the parameter is not given is 0.5.

Grouping

We support using parentheses to group clauses to form sub queries. This can be very useful if you want to control the boolean logic for a query.

To search for either ""another"" or ""book"" and ""website"" use the query:

(another OR book) AND website

This eliminates any confusion and makes sure you that website must exist and either term another or book may exist.

Escaping Special Characters

We support escaping special characters that are part of the query syntax. The current list special characters are:

+ - && || ! ( ) { } [ ] ^ "" ~ * ? : \

To escape these character use the \ before the character. For example to search for (1+1):2 use the query:

\(1\+1\)\:2

Boosting a Term

We provide the relevance level of matching documents based on the terms found. To boost a term use the caret, ""^"", symbol with a boost factor (a number) at the end of the term you are searching. The higher the boost factor, the more relevant the term will be.

Boosting allows you to control the relevance of a document by boosting its term. For example, if you are searching for

another book

and you want the term ""another"" to be more relevant boost it using the ^ symbol along with the boost factor next to the term. You would type:

another^4 book

This will make documents with the term another appear more relevant. You can also boost Phrase Terms as in the example:

""another book""^4 ""Some Book""

By default, the boost factor is 1. Although the boost factor must be positive, it can be less than 1 (e.g. 0.2)

Proximity Searches

We support finding words are a within a specific distance away. To do a proximity search use the tilde, ""~"", symbol at the end of a Phrase. For example to search for a ""book"" and ""another"" within 10 words of each other in a document use the search:

""another book""~10
You searched for: 'Connolly, AND John' anywhere
Refine Search
Sort:
Every Dead Thing

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781444704686

Stunning literary serial killer thriller that pushes back the boundaries of the genre
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: February 1 2010
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €10.70

White Road

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781444704716

The terrifying thriller from the acclaimed and bestselling author of The Killing Kind
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: February 1 2010
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 10 – 99 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €8.99

Cailleacha Underbury

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781905494675
Publisher: New Island Books
Pub. Date: April 30 2007
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €5.94

THE WHISPERERS

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9780340993514
Publisher: HODDER
Pub. Date: May 1 2010
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Price: €14.97

Retail Price: €15.85

Gates

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781444706741

Funny, scary adventure with a dachshund, demons, science - and footnotes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: April 1 2010
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 10 – 99 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €9.51

Whisperers

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781444711189

Charlie Parker returns in the chilling thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE LOVERS
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: January 1 2011
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €7.04

Retail Price: €9.99

Conquest

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781472209603

One of Amazon's Top 10 YA novels for 2013. An epic tale set on an Earth ruled by an elite alien race. For fans of Rick Yancey and Pittacus Lore.
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Pub. Date: August 28 2014
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €9.51

Creeps

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781444751857

The adventures of Samuel Johnson, his dog Boswell, two demons, four dwarfs and a very polite monster.
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: October 9 2014
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €8.32

Wolf in Winter

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781444755367

In this pulse-pounding thriller, Private Detective Charlie Parker risks his life as he takes on a case for his dead client.
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: January 1 2015
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €10.70

Night Music: Nocturnes 2

click to see more
click to see more

ISBN/EAN: 9781473619722

From the bestselling author of the Charlie Parker mystery series - 'the finest crime series currently in existence' (Independent) - comes a new anthology of chilling short fiction. Fans of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and NOCTURNES will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection of short stories of the supernatural from John Connolly.
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Pub. Date: October 15 2015
Author: Connolly, John
Format: Paperback
Availability: 1 – 9 copies in stock
Star Rating
Price: €16.65